top of page
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

AdulT Learn to Row

Rowing is the ultimate team sport. Classes fill quickly and rely on your consistent attendance at all practices.

LEARN-TO-ROW 2024

Each Learn-to-Row session features 5 classes and is intended to be an introduction to the basics of rowing. Participants will attend a 1-day land-based orientation session and 4 classes where participants will learn to row in a 4-person sculling shell.

The orientation class is held on a Sunday from 11:00 AM to 1:30 PM and is mandatory before attending any on-water classes. Once orientation is complete, participants will attend 4 classes featuring on-water and land-based activities. Learn-to-Row is offered on Wednesday evenings from 6:15 to 8:15 PM or Sunday mornings from 9:00 to 11:00 AM.

The skills of rowing are sequential and require weekly practice, so, we encourage you to choose a session where you are able to participate in all dates listed. By the conclusion of the 5-week session, you will have learned the basics of the sculling stroke in a team boat using 2 oars. Participants who have completed the entire 5-week session will be offered the opportunity to continue into our Foundations of Rowing program.

 

Participants MUST be 18 years or older and have graduated high school. Please visit our Youth Programs page for high school and middle school rowing opportunities. 

Rowing is a water sport, and as such, requires a certain degree of mobility. By registering, participants are agreeing that they are able to accomplish the following skills: tread water for 5 minutes; swim 50 m (two laps of a pool); lift 30 pounds overhead; and squat, bend, and reach with full range of motion. If you have concerns regarding any of these requirements, please contact BCR before registering.

Fee: $275

 

Need to change sessions after you've registered?

Rowing is the ultimate team sport. Classes fill quickly and rely on your consistent attendance at all practices. As a member of a team boat, unexpected absences and scheduling changes affect the entire program. There will be a $75 administrative fee if a session change is requested within 2 calendar weeks of the orientation date for your registered session. There is a $100 administrative fee if a session change is requested after the orientation date for your registered session. For details regarding class cancellations, see our Refund Policy

Questions? admin@baltimorerowing.org

LTR SESSION 1

RESERVED for Intro to Indoor Rowing participants

Wednesday, April 3; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, April 10; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, April 17; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, April 24; 6:15-8:15 PM

You must have completed an Introduction to Indoor Rowing class at BCR to register for this session.

LTR SESSION 2

RESERVED for Intro to Indoor Rowing participants - no orientation

Sunday, April 7; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, April 14; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, April 21; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, April 28; 9:00-11:00 AM

You must have completed an Introduction to Indoor Rowing class at BCR to register for this session.

LTR SESSION 3

Sunday, April 28; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Wednesday, May 1; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, May 8; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, May 15; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, May 22; 6:15-8:15 PM

LTR SESSION 4

Sunday, April 28; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Sunday, May 12; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, May 19; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, May 26; 9:00-11:00 AM 

Sunday, June 2; 9:00-11:00 AM

LTR SESSION 5

Sunday, June 2; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Wednesday, June 5; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, June 12; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, June 19; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, June 26; 6:15-8:15 PM

LTR SESSION 6 

Sunday, June 2; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Sunday, June 9; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, June 16; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, June 23; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, June 30; 9:00-11:00 AM

LTR SESSION 7

Sunday, June 30; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Sunday, July 7; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, July 14; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, July 21; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, July 28; 9:00-11:00 AM

LTR SESSION 8

Sunday, June 30; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM (MANDATORY orientation)

Wednesday, July 10; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, July 17; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, July 24; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, July 31; 6:15-8:15 PM

LTR SESSION 9

Sunday, July 28; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Sunday, August 4; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, August 11; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, August 18; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, August 25; 9:00-11:00 AM

LTR SESSION 10

Sunday, July 28; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM  (MANDATORY orientation)

Wednesday, August 7; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, August 14; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, August 21; 6:15-8:15 PM

Wednesday, August 28; 6:15-8:15 PM

LTR SESSION 11

Sunday, August 25; 11:00 AM - 1:30 PM (MANDATORY orientation)

Sunday, September 1; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday September 8; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, September 15; 9:00-11:00 AM

Sunday, September 22; 9:00-11:00 AM

"ROWING TEACHES US THAT IN UNITY, WE ACHIEVE GREATNESS"

- George Pocock

bottom of page